KIDNEY STORIES: FIND A KIDNEY FOR ALEXANDRIA

Alexandra (Sandy) Rainville is a 58 year old mother of one.  She needs  a kidney from someone with blood type A or O.   To see if you are a match call Transplant Coordinator- Liza B 757 388 3977 Sentara Hospital.  Click “About” to learn more.
Description
UPDATED – 10/2012 – Now on dialysis due to kidneys failing. In need of transplant and looking for donors who match my blood type.  Please, share your spare, you will be giving me the greatest gift in the world, the gift of life. 
Just to reference dialysis – the average person on dialysis usually dies within the first 5 years.  There is a 50% chance within the first year and 20% each year after….  There is also other issues that people on dialysis deal with that contribute to other issues with kidney disease. 
I’m a 58 yr old woman who has 1 adult daughter and many acquired children through out the years and no grandchildren. I just got married to a wonderful man in March 2011, after being a widow since I was 39 when my husband died from cancer.
I found out in 2009 I had 34 kidney stones in my right kidney and had surgery to have them removed in a DC hospital. There was issues with the surgery, they couldn’t get them all out so they had to do back to back surgery, during the second surgery they nick my lung. I was in ICU for 4 days, but I pulled through. Was sent home with the idea that my kidneys would now be normal, and life continued. My primary doctor kept up with the testing to determine how the kidneys were doing and the creatinine numbers kept doing down (which is great!), and I continued working and living a normal life.
My husband was stationed in Hawaii at the time, and I went to Hawaii in January 2011.  Everything was good. I walked 3 miles a day and had so much energy, I figured my body had stabilized. Then my husband and I moved to Va Beach area. I packed him up when I was in Hawaii and then went back to the Northern VA area and packed up my life, quit my job which I had for 9 years and moved to VA Beach. We got married in March 2011, I had a new job and our life was happy.
In May I went for my yearly physical, I was feeling a little tired but figured it was from all the moving etc I would never expected to hear I was a stage 4 kidney disease. It took me about 5 months just to be able to say the words to anyone. I cried for months, not understanding why, I did everything the Dr told me I needed to do. My life was not my own any more, I had no control over my body. This disease takes so much from you so much from your family.
My husband has been so wonderful and supportive, I couldn’t ask for a more wonderful person. There are days when I barely have the energy to get out of bed, and he has always been there to help with whatever needs to be done. Every doctors appointment, every testing at the hospital he goes, and has been involved in my disease since we found out about it.
All I’m asking for is for God to give me at least 20 years with my soulmate. I love this man so much and do not want to leave this earth just yet and leave him behind. I waited so many years to find my true love and I know its not my time to die.
I’m doing everything I can to stay a late stage 4/5 and to preempt before dialysis to obtain a kidney transplant. I do work part time just to keep myself out there, but it takes everything I’m worth to get out of bed in the morning and when I come home in the afternoon just to lay down and rest. I’ve always been a hard worker, and I love my career but this disease has taken so much from me.
I am proactive in CKD care and am trying to get the word out about kidney disease.
So please if you are interested in being a donor (even not for me but for another person) please contact our coordinator and get the ball rolling. Remember you are giving a person a second chance of life, and if that person is me, I want to say ” Thank you for being so selfless” you just gave me a chance to spend the next 20 years with the man of my life and hopefully we can grow old together.
Transplant Coordinator- Liza B 757 388 3977 Sentara Hospital
 
 
Leave a Reply

