KIDNEY STORIES: FIND A KIDNEY FOR CLAUDIA

1. Searching for a living kidney donor. 2. My blood type is O+ 3. Transplant center is Tampa General Hospital 4. We do NOT have to be a match for you to donate!
Description
PLEASE LIKE MY PAGE AND READ MY STORY:
My name is Claudia, but my friends and family call me Chick.  I am 66 years old, and I have been married to the love of my life for 41 years.  I am a wife, a mother, and a grandmother to a sweet little girl named Avery Grace.  I am full of love and laugher, and I believe there is still much more joy to be experienced in my life.  Unfortunately, I am in need …of a new kidney.  I was diagnosed with Polysistic Kidney Disease (PKD) in 1978.  I lost my mother to this same genetic disease in 1982.  Although I have lived with PKD for 35 years, the symptoms took over my life in March 2012.  After being extremely ill and having my kidneys only working at 3% together, I began dialysis in August 2012.  I am hooked up to my machine 10 hours a day/7 days a week.  I know that everything happens for a reason, and that this is all part of God’s master plan for my life.  But I am looking for a living donor, an angel, who can give me back the life that PKD is trying to take away from me.
After a year of testing and a run-in with breast cancer (yes, I am a survivor!), I was officially added to the transplant list in January 2013 at Tampa General Hospital in Tampa, Florida.  Since my blood type is O+, my wait time is 3 – 4 years on the current wait list.  If I can find a living donor, I can avoid having to wait that long.  I am part of a national pairing program that allows me to provide a living donor that is not necessarily a perfect match for me.  Unfortunately, since my illness is genetic, I do not want my daughter to be tested.  If she has the illness, it would jeopardize her insurance needs forevermore.  If she doesn’t have it, she would need to keep her kidneys in case my granddaughter has the gene.  It’s a difficult decision, but if I had donated to my mom 30 years ago, I would not be here today.  Both of my kidneys working so little is what kept me alive until dialysis.  As much as she wants to help me, we’ve decided she needs to save her kidneys.  We have also decided my son-in-law should do the same in case he needs to help my granddaughter in the future.  Sadly, my devoted husband is too old by living donor standards to donate.  If you are reading my page and thinking about becoming my angel, you do NOT have to be a perfect match for me thanks to the pairing program.  You just have to have a willing heart and good health (Tampa General will not allow those with diabetes or blood pressure controlled by medicine).  Please consider becoming a living donor for me so that I can live my life to the fullest again and not be limited by my symptoms and my illness.  If you would at least partner with me and share this page, and ask others to share it, I would be eternally grateful.  I am trusting that God will provide what I need in His timing.  And while I continue to wait, I can only hope that my story will inspire someone and bless others in a meaningful way.
Thank you for your time…be blessed!
Chick
Leave a Reply

