KIDNEY STORIES: A NEW KIDNEY FOR WANDA

Wanda Aquino is in need a donor with an A or O blood type (positive or negative) Please call Stacey at Medical Univ. of South Carolina at 843-792-0704 or toll-free at 1-800-277-8687. Be sure to include Wanda’s name when leaving a message.
Description
Hi everyone,
My name is Jeri-Lynn, and I’m writing this on behalf of my mother, Wanda, who was diagnosed with Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD) in 2000, and has been on a transplant list for a new kidney for over 2 years.
PKD is a life-threatening illness characterized by the presence of multiple cysts in the kidneys. It can result in End Stage Renal Disease, which my mother also suffers from, and… eventually kidney failure.
PKD is hereditary, and if one parent carries the gene, the children have a 50% chance of developing the disorder. I would have donated my kidney without a second thought, but I have PKD as well.
My mother is the most hard-working and self-sacrificing woman I’ve ever known. She spent her life in the service of others, helping and taking care of people whenever she could, and of course, being a loving wife and mother. I hate to use the old cliche, but what else can you call a woman who worked full-time, raised a family, and kept a perfect household other than Wonder Woman? That’s what she’s been to us. No matter what any of us went through, we always knew she’d be there for us. There was always someone we could turn to. She’s been the pillar of this family. My mother taught me what unconditional love is.
Even as she suffers today, her biggest complaint is that she can’t do more for other people. She fights through her pain with a strength I can only describe as truly awe-inspiring.
Currently, my mother has been doing dialysis on a daily basis since July 2012. While the procedure is thankfully done at-home, we are still in desperate need of a new kidney.
If you or anyone you know is interested in giving the biggest gift you could ever give this family, please contact me, Jeri-Lynn Aquino – either through facebook, or you can email me at: birdsflyaway@gmail.com
Please, please like this page, share it on facebook, and spread the word. Even if you don’t think you can make such a commitment, asking questions is more help than you know.
Thank you, Jeri-Lynn and Family
Leave a Reply

