KIDNEY STORIES: LARA NEEDS A KIDNEY

 
 
 
 
 

 

I am a 36 year old Type 1 Diabetic and mother to an adopted son who is 15 months old.

Description
Due to complications from Type 1 diabetes since I was 7 years old, I am in need of a kidney.  Type O blood.  My husband never knew what he was getting into with the vows of “in sickness and in health”.  Unfortunately I have been sick more than healthy.  He has had to take on a very involved role of raising our child.  I don’t know too many dads that stay home with their new babies for a month all …by themselves and also still change diapers without being asked.  I had a donor who went through the process of being tested (which took her almost 7 months because she thought once I had my chest catheter for hemo dialysis I was stable).  We found out in February after many delays that she was not a suitable donor after all and I found myself back to square one.  I started PD in April and was able to take my first real family vacation just recently.  I am doing well on dialysis, but would rather not have to do it at all.  I want to be able to be the one who gets up with my son at night instead of everyone having to wake up.  I want to be able to not be tethered to a machine for 9 or more hours a night and to actually be able to walk past the exit to my bedroom after 9pm. I realize I probably have a long wait ahead of me since it seems like most of the people who need a kidney are Type O.  I live in Arizona.
Leave a Reply

