Kidney donation should be a blessing, not a curse! Support the Living Donor Protection Act!

Great article, sharing on my social media contacts!

Advocacy in Action

By Cynthia Puryear

I will never forget the day or my exact location when I received the call from my sister in Arkansas telling me she had taken our mom to the doctor, and it wasn’t good news. It was my shocking introduction to chronic kidney failure, and my mom was slowly progressing to End-stage Renal Disease (ESRD). It was a blessing that our mom had no other ailments or serious medical conditions, so we were able to move forward with the transplantation discussions. She also had 10 children willing to donate a kidney. Out of 10 children, I was going to defer to my siblings to donate since I had a toddler. Fast forward, many of siblings did not get beyond the pre-screen for various reasons. Ultimately, there were only two matches, and one healthy enough to donate – me! My Christmas gift to my mother was a new kidney.

View original post 474 more words

Leave a Reply

